Un giorno a Milano


Milano: An overdose of pretty boys, designer shops, gelaterias and sunshine.

That’s how you can describe in one sentence how our day trip to Milano was. Jasmina and I decided to go there, 1st: because it rained cats and dogs the last time we went there 4 years ago. 2nd: it’s only 48 minutes away by train from Bergamo. 3th: why not?!

Our trip began in the train station of Bergamo. It was the first time we took the train in Italy, so it was a real challenge to explain the lady in the ticket office which tickets we exactly wanted. Thanks to my little book “Italian for Dummies” it was no problemo. Well, to be honest, it was almost no problemo… In Italy, train tickets are valid for 1 month and as we didn’t know that, we also didn’t know that we had to validate our tickets before stepping on the train, which caused a weird conversation with the train conductor when he explained us we had to pay a fine for not validating the ticket. (I can proudly announce that my sweat glands still work perfectly!) Thanks to our pout, our puppy eyes and our “but, sir, it’s the first time we take the train in Italy. No one explained us!”, we luckily came away with a warning and an evil grin from the conductor. Whew!

When we arrived in the train station, I was amazed by the huge old walls. You could almost smell history. On our way to Piazza Del Duomo, we went to Bianco Latte (as recommended by a boy with a very good taste). There, my excitement grew even bigger. Little was wanting or I had asked the owner if I could just stay there for the rest of my life. For real! I wich I could save the smell of the mix between coffee and ice-cream that was blissfully floating around in the air of the store and smell it every time I’m sad.

Instant happiness, I assure you!

After that, we went to the Lomography shop because I was out of rolls of film for my Diana Mini. Then we just strolled around the city, looking at people, buildings, shops, the sky…till we suddenly saw a bright white spot, bathing in the sunlight. With every step we took, our eyes were getting bigger, just like the Duomo, which was rising in front of us. Thanks to the perfect sky and light, this beautiful building looked that day like it does on an expensive postcard. It was almost like Duomo was getting her tan on.

One word: Belissimo!

We decided to take some pictures (how very touristic, I know) and took a look at Via and Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, where the expensive and less expensive shops are situated. My wallet told me she is getting a lil’ anorectic and because of that, we only did some window shopping. (This sounds sadder than it was).
After laughing with little chinese people, carrying Dirk Bikkembergs -and Pradabags that were almost bigger than themselves (I was laughing too hard to take a picture of it), we decided to walk back to the train station.

But not before we had another ice-cream. Of course.

See more pictures here: Un giorno a Milano, a set on Flickr.

Piazza del Duomo, MilanoPiazza del Duomo, MilanoGalleria Vittorio Emanuele II MilanGalleria Vittorio Emanuele II MilanPiazza del Duomo, MilanoBianco Latte, Milano
Off to Milano!Krem de la (De)KremVia Emanuele II MilanLuini PastryFlying high
A Famous GrouseVia Emanuele II MilanDuomoGalleria Vittorio Emanuele II MilanDuomoDuomo vs Diana
Red VespaCappuccinoMoustacheBianco Latte

One thought on “Un giorno a Milano

  1. Pingback: My Lovemark: Nutella | La Fille d'Eau

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

