So long, farewell, auf wiedersehen, adieu, Summer.


Ah, summer, what power you have to make us suffer and like it? ~Russel Baker

To me, summer is that time of the year when my heart is free, the days are never ending and my skin is kissed by the sun. (Okay, I admit it, that last part didn’t quite happen this summer. Thank you, Rain for messing up that plan.) These days, September is here again and summer is gone.

But still. The memories we have made this summer will last forever. This past summer has been filled with family, friends, and lots of good times. I feel blessed that I was able to spend these good times with the people I love after my two-month-stay in Italy. When asked how my summer went, I like to say that this has been my best summer yet. I’m not planning where to go at the moment, but I’m calculating the ingredients such as sun, friends, music, adventure, fun, new experiences. And love. Lots of love please. I know that this summer will be hard to beat next year, but then again, that’ll be another challenge.

It’s time for me to say farewell now, Summer. I must say we never really truly bonded this year but I’m pretty sure time will heal our “broken” relationship. You were never really given the chance to shine, my old friend. So farewell, until we meet again.

In the meantime, I will thoroughly relish the cooler seasons.

2 thoughts on “So long, farewell, auf wiedersehen, adieu, Summer.

  1. Ze zeggen dat we toch een goeie nazomer tegemoet gaan….. maar als die trekken weg heeft van deze zomer wordt het dus een normale herfst ;) Toch schoon stuksken blog …. het belgisch klimaat kan ervan leren ….

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

