Music Monday: Irma


Someday, somehow, I don’t point in my life, I will find my way.
I’d better not cry, I’m not alone, even if you walk away,
I won’t beg you to stay.

Move over to this week’s Music Monday: Irma.
This young girl got famous by posting her videos on YouTube, just like the Dutch girl Esmée Denters did.

It’s okay if you’ve never heard of Irma before, but I would appreciate it if you just hit play and listen to her song ‘Somehow’.

This is, in my view, a raw and emotional song about unrequited love and at the same time also the best song of her debut album Letter To The Lord. The rest of her album is also drizzled with love songs. You can tell that from titles like Love You, Mr. Love and In Love With The Devil. A larger variation of song themes in one album is more of my taste and therefore this is not really the perfect album to listen to on your own on a drizzly Sunday afternoon. I would rather play the songs on a sunny Saturday morning, when I’m  having breakfast with the people I love and when I’m not submerged into the meaning of the lyrics. If that’s not too much to ask.

This, of course, doesn’t take away the fact that this girl definitely is one to keep an eye on!

(Off the record: Esmée definitely had more luck in the beginning of her singing career since she got chosen to record a song together with Justin Timberlake. Irma, in turn, had to be satisfied with the company of Tom Dice and his guitar… Just sayin’ ^^)

Special thanks to Adhese/Enchanté for making this blog post possible

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

